The curse of the debut

So here I am mugging, when a song off jason lo’s sophomore album pops on my ipod. I absolutely love the malaysian music scene. It’s so much more vibrant and fresh when compared to the aussie stuff.

That got me thinking, why is it that post album #1, almost everyone goes to the shitter? Snow patrol is half there. Coldplay is way past the finish line. Should I even mention Linkin Park?

Yes I know almost all of the acts mentioned above are pop gigs. But hey! Jimmy eats world is still hanging on. So is sigur ros. So what gives?

Leave a Reply

