“Maaf, tuan”

My 20th birthday was not a joyous occasion for more than a few reasons. This is not one of them, but it’s one of the incidents that certainly made it a memorable one (for all the wrong reasons).

On that very day, I was rushing an assignment with my close friend, and so we adjourned over to her place. Me on the PC and her on her laptop making use of one printer. We happened to be in her cousin’s bedroom, and she went out a mo’ to get some loose sheets of paper for printing. I heard a knock on the door and a woman who looked like an Indonesian spoke quietly, apologizing for interrupting, and said she needed to get something from the dresser. I obviously said it was not a problem, and to go ahead with what she needed to fetch. She said sorry, again, and then went on with her task. She took a black cloth from the cupboard and left.
Prior to this, I was aware that my friend’s cousin employed two maids, but she neglected to tell me that they had been sent back!

Yes, I bumped into a ghost on my birthday. When my friend got back, I casually retold the story to her to which I got a stoned faced reply of, “What?” That was when she told me that the maids were no longer in the house. Yes, I swear this is true.
To this day, we still joke about the maid and how she might do us some favors by cleaning up our rooms.

07/07/07 is apparently regarded as quite an auspicious date. Meh. Who cares. My birthday present came early =)

4 thoughts on ““Maaf, tuan”

  1. Huh?? means itu maid seriously ghost ar?? Sweat!! well.. did u describe the maid’s appearance to yr friend? Haha.. Ya.. 07/07/07 sounds auspicious la. It happens once in a life time okay? Ha ha.. Nice no.. grant me a no so that i can buy TOTO.. Well, hope u don see anythg on 07/07/07.. ha ha.. ciaoz… take care!

  2. waliu.. apa maaf tuan. doesnt suit the story. zzz. and i’m reading this at 2am after some others just told some other ghost stories.

    070707, auspicious date hor, can get married lor. banyak orang like this kinda dates. =)

Leave a Reply

